ASN logo
Home » News
Jamaica remains IASA Category 1 following FAA audit
Last updated: 12 December 2017

published: 30 MAR 2005
by Harro Ranter, ASN

Related links

» IASA Program

Consequent upon a review of Jamaica’s aviation sector on March 16, 2005, by the Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) the country remains in Category One. The Jamaica Civil Aviation Authority was audited under the FAA’s International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) programme. About December, 2004 the CAA amended legislation which gave it more authority and independence and established a pecuniary system of punishment in which fines can be levied by the CAA without having to involve the courts. In fact, under these new regulations, aircraft operators must all be re-certified and a process has been established for this. (Jamaica Ministry of Transport and Works)