ASN logo
ASN Wikibase Occurrence # 195804
Last updated: 27 June 2017
This information is added by users of ASN. Neither ASN nor the Flight Safety Foundation are responsible for the completeness or correctness of this information. If you feel this information is incomplete or incorrect, you can submit corrected information.

Date:30-MAY-2017
Time:ca 20:00
Type:Silhouette image of generic A321 model; specific model in this crash may look slightly different
Airbus A321-231 (WL)
Owner/operator:JetBlue
Registration: N967JT
C/n / msn: 7257
Fatalities:Fatalities: 0 / Occupants: 158
Other fatalities:0
Airplane damage: None
Location:near Grand Rapids, MI -   United States of America
Phase: En route
Nature:Domestic Scheduled Passenger
Departure airport:New York-JFK International Airport, NY (JFK)
Destination airport:San Francisco International Airport, CA (SFO/KSFO)
Narrative:
JetBlue Flight 915 diverted to Grand Rapids' Gerald R. Ford International Airport, Michigan, USA after the lithium battery from a passenger's laptop caught fire.
The aircraft, an Airbus A321, had departed New York-JFK International Airport at 18:25 EDT (22:25 UTC) on a service to San Francisco, California. While en route over Michigan at FL340 "smoke began emitting from a carry-on bag holding an electronic device," according to JetBlue.
The flight crew diverted to Grand Rapids as a precaution. A safe landing was made at 20:13 EDT (00:13 UTC). The flight was continued after a two-hour stopover at Grand Rapids.

Sources:

http://abcnews.go.com/Travel/jetblue-flight-makes-emergency-landing-battery-fire/story?id=47737180
https://www.flightradar24.com/data/flights/b6915#d90fa4a


Revision history:

Date/timeContributorUpdates
31-May-2017 07:26 harro Added
31-May-2017 08:14 harro Updated [Source, Narrative]

Corrections or additions? ... Edit this accident description